Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Basics - Online Edition

Need to find resources for your paper or project? Here's a quick guide that will introduce you to some of the basic resources that you can use for your paper or project. This Online Edition focuses on just the resources that the library provides online.
  • General Purpose Searching: If you don't know where to begin or just want ot perform a quick search, then using the Articles tab of the library home page's search box or using the All EBSCO search found in the Research Database list will work well.
  • Subject Searching: However, for some topics, you may find your search results improved if you use a specific subject database. Here are some advantages of using subject databases:
    • Since articles are from a narrower field of research, you'll find more relevant results.
    • Subject databases have more refined limiting and expanding capabilities.
    • Subject terms are used consistently in a given databases. 
  • Here's a list of some of the main subjects that have subject relevant databases and their main database:
  • If you go to the Research Database list, you will see a full list of over 100 databases that Bethel provides access to. You'll be able to see a description of the various databases, and you can narrow your search by using the drop down lists. For example, the subject drop down list will limit the databases by subject:Database list with Subject drop down list