ENGL 101 -- Written Communications II: Find Full Text

When using one of Bethel's EBSCO databases (like MLA), you will see see a variety of links located just under the citation for each article.  These links let you know what sort of full text access Bethel provides.  Here's a quick explanation of the links:

• When you see this link, it means that a PDF copy of the article is available on EBSCO's servers.  Click on this link will take you straight to the article.
• This link is similar to the PDF Full Text link mentioned above. The article is on EBSCO's servers and clicking the link will take you straight to the article. However, this version of the article will be formatted like other EBSCO pages. You are NOT seeing a copy of the article as printed by the publisher. Page numbers will not be available.
• Though this link is provided by EBSCO, it will take you straight to the publisher's site. Normally, you should see the article when clicking this link. Occasionally, you will see messages asking you to pay for the article. If you see this, you may request the article through Interlibrary Loan. 
• This link functions a lot like the Linked Full Text button just above. You will be directed to the publisher's site. Normally, you are taken to the article. However, sometimes you may have to hunt and search for the article within the publisher's site.  The difference between this link and the Linked Full Text link is that this one is managed by Bethel. If you have problems with it, you may contact the library by using the Ask a Librarian form.
• This link differs from the ones mentioned above. Bethel does not provide immediate access to these articles. You may, however, get access to most of these articles by clicking on the link. See the accompanying box for further details.

For items that Bethel doesn't own or provide access to, you can request to get them from another library. To do this, you may do either of the following:

Using links within the database:

• Click on the link. 
• Then click on the link.
• You'll now be on an Interlibrary Loan request form. Fill out your name and contact information and then click Send. The item information has been filled out for you.

Using the Interlibrary Loan form from the Library's homepage:

• Visit the library homepage. It's available at: https://www.betheluniversity.edu/library/
• Fill out all the necessary fields. Necessary fields are marked with an *.
• Click on the Submit Form button on the bottom of the page.

Sometimes, when using the link, you may encounter some resources that do not provide a link to a full text resource.  Here's an example of what you will see when you encounter a link that IS available but only in print: 

When this happens, get the citation information for your article. For example:

Title: The Evolution of the Role of the Psychiatric Mental Health Advanced Practice Registered Nurse in the United States.
Author: Drew, Barbara L.
Journal Information: Archives of psychiatric nursing 28(5):298

Take the journal information, go to the library, and find the journal Archives of psychiatric nursing, volume 28. With the journal in hand, simply look for page 298.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact a librarian by:

• Calling the Circulation Desk at: 574.807.7180, or
• By using the Ask a Librarian form