LibGuides: Literature: Electronic Resources

Hints for Electronic Resources

Articles: When finding articles for your paper, go to a database, like Academic Search, rather than to Google. It will take less time to find an article, the articles will be more credible, and more full text is available.
Articles: You can limit your search to just what Bethel owns by clicking on both Full Text Provided by Bethel and Full Text Provided by EBSCO boxes.
E-books: Search for e-books using the catalog first. It is easier to find books there. If you want a more in depth search-especially within chapters, search the e-book collections; a list of these is on the right hand column.

Find Full Text

Find Full Text
For information on how to find the full text when using databases, see the Find Full Text page which will explain what the various icons mean.

Questions?

If you have any questions, feel free to contact a librarian by:

Calling the Circulation Desk at: 574.807.7180, or
By using the Ask a Librarian form

Databases & Journal Collections

Databases are the main resources that you will use in finding articles for your paper. The following is a list of some key databases for literature study.

Academic Search Complete
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
Humanities Full Text
Academic journal and specialized magazine articles in the humanities published after 1984.
Humanities Full Text contains around 700 scholarly journals and specialized magazines in areas including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy and religion. Includes full text from 1995 to present with indexing from 1984 to present. Great for current broad scholarship in the humanities, although lacks older indexing and full text for more exhaustive literature reviews. (H.W. Wilson) INSPIRE.
JSTOR: Arts & Sciences I Collection
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
Literary Reference Plus
Thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.
Literary Reference™ Source (LRC Plus) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Plus contains everything in Literary Reference™ Source, plus the following: over 1,200 additional full-text literary reference books/works, over 200 additional full-text literary journals and magazines, 35 volumes of new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 full-text literary study guides and 72 literary videos.
MagillOnLiterature Plus
Good for a general audience, providing access to Masterplots, biographical essays and criticism.
Magill On Literature Plus contains book reviews, Masterplots, critical essays and select lists of works. A limited glossary provides definitions of literary terms and genres. Entries include some images, bibliographies, and literary characters. INSPIRE.
Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson)
Citations for thousands of short stories published in collections.
Short Story Index includes over 150,000 stories from more than 7,500 collections and anthologies dating back to 1984. Citations only. (H.W. Wilson) INSPIRE.

E-books

If you know the author the title of the eBook that you are looking for, searching for it in the catalog is the easiest thing to do. However, if you are searching for topics that are found within a book--like a chapter or an article--then searching using the vendor's interface can help you find that information. We have four different collections of eBooks, all have some Biblical study material; however, we do have EBSCO's Religion collection which has a large number of books related to Biblical studies.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Ebooks that cover many disciplines and are usually more recent.
EBSCO eBooks provides ebooks from a variety of publishers. Older academic titles and newer popular press titles (e.g. cookbooks, juvenile texts). Platform is fairly easy to use and books can be read entirely online. Print and download options are clearly listed. Subscription.
JSTOR: Books
Academic ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR books is a collection of scholarly ebooks in the humanities and social sciences. Its entire collection contains around 100,000 books. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. Books are searchable and downloadable by chapter in PDF form. All books are DRM-free, meaning that they can be downloaded without any restrictions or needing special software. Subscription.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Large collection of ebooks published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Scholarship Online is a current collection of ebooks and journals purchased from Oxford University Press. Subscription.

Literature: Electronic Resources

EBSCO literature search

Hints for Electronic Resources

Find Full Text

Questions?

Databases & Journal Collections

E-books